3. Evaluation of the Topic Section based on Curricular Needs

I also looked at the section based on curricular needs. I reviewed the 6-12 Common Core standards for nonfiction. I read the Georgia Performance Standards and Curriculum Maps to see which titles were relevant to our curriculum. I enlisted the aid of the literacy coach in doing this to ensure that I covered all of the pertinent standards. I managed to keep my collection relevant for my patrons and faculty by retaining titles about sports figures, scientists, mathematicians, historical figures, authors, famous Americans, and world leaders to name a few. I also ensured that I kept titles on multiple reading levels. The literacy coach and I generated lists based off of the Scholastic Common Core Nonfiction List to give teachers by subject so that they could better utilize the media center. We also made of list of titles to order with Striving Reader Grant funds from this list.

Finally, I consulted with a select group of teachers at my school during a break out session of a faculty meeting devoted to our Striving Reader Grant requirements to see if any of the titles I proposed to remove would be useful in their content area. Before speaking with the teachers, I divided the titles into sections to know which teachers to meet with and to ensure an efficient use of my colleagues’ time. This proved to be a very interesting meeting. The process of weeding opened up a wonderful dialogue with my faculty! I was able to share my vision of a 21st century media program informally and the teachers were able to request titles they would like to have in the media center. We also discussed collaboration ideas that we could accomplish together. Of course, this also led to a great deal of laughter as we reminisced over some of the older titles. One was even marked “Glenwood High School.” This school consolidated into our system a few years ago….in 1959!!!! It was during this session that the English teacher pointed out the last patron to check out one title was none other than my husband way back in 1982, long before I knew him. (I brought that one home to show him and he remembered doing a book report in front of the class.) At the conclusion of the meeting I had a wonderful group of stakeholders ready to assist me and the beginnings of what I hope will be my library advisory board.

Leave a comment